top of page

Capturing Creatives || Natalie Contrera

This past weekend, Summer and I joined Ashton Kelley for a photography retreat with a group of lovely ladies in Savannah, Georgia. We got to catch up with our WV photog gals, meet some amazing girls from all over, and connect with some ladies who felt like they had always been a part of our lives. We captured an amazing styled wedding, learned more about enhancing our business, learned a few new floral tips, and had amazing food. But what stands out most to me was the amazing powerful words that kept coming from such a petite person. 

I first met Natalie in OBX at another one of Ashton Kelley's Photography Retreats. From the moment I met her, I realized that she is one of the most genuine people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. 

On this trip, that feeling was the same. Summer and I support the empowering women- helping them to feel beautiful inside and out. Natalie is the same way. As a make-up artist, hair stylist, and wardrobe stylist, you would think that Natalie would focus on selling products to make women beautiful. But that's not the case. Natalie has so much more to offer. She sees women for who they truly are. She chooses to empower women by helping them feel beautiful on the outside, so they feel power and beauty on the inside. Natalie is blunt, but kind. Strong, yet full of compassion. Beautiful AND smart. All weekend I watched her tell girls to be strong, tell them how great they looked, looked at their photography work and told them they were amazing. 

I got the chance to photograph Natalie and have some fun. She wanted some head-shots in sleek outfits and I wanted to try out some new techniques that I had learned at the retreat. I like to think that these images show her, strong, beautiful, playful, and stylish as hell. Natalie took so much time to encourage me this weekend, as did so many other ladies. While this shout out is to Natalie, thank you everyone who was in Savannah with us. Thank you Ashton Kelley for holding your retreats- a place for growth, encouragement, and building connections. 

Oh, and in case you were wondering Natalie is pronounced B-E-Y-O-N-C-E.

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page